Search
Generic filters
Exact matches only

I’m a professional seemingly!

Homepage Forums General Photography The Lounge I’m a professional seemingly!

• This topic is empty.

I’m a professional seemingly!

• Alan Rossiter
    Participant

Well I never.

I entered a competition over the weekend – the ESAI photography competition. It’s for amateurs only. My submission was rejected this morning as this:

I cannot accept submission of your entry.
    Please read the terms and conditions of entry stating that the
    competition is open to amateur photographers only.

I stated that I work as a company buyer and does having a website exclude me. The reply:

We have had this issue arise beofre in the competition.
    I’ll run it by the committee members as indicated but the general
    guide is that any person who makes a monetary gain from the sale of
    photographic works is considered not to be an amatuer photographer.

Assumptions based on my offering images for sale on my site…which have amounted to 3 sales on 3 years which hardly paid for themselves. So let the congratulations come in hot and heavy folks…I’ve just been made professional!!

Where do these people get off with their rules? I suggested that they redefine it as “people who don’t own “good” cameras” :?

Alan

Mark
    Keymaster

Congrats Alan !.

But seriously, you’d think that they’d want to see the best photos regardless of amateur/pro status tbh.

brownie
    Participant

Hi Alan, I laughed when I saw this post because the issue as they say that arose before in the competition was with me. I won the competition
    last year 2009 when I was unemployed..yes unemployed and I registered as a business from the end of January 2010 but again after heading
    to Limerick to collect my prize at their annual conference I got the news from them, quote “it has come to our notice that you are a professional photographer and we will not be handing over the voucher for €250.00”