Search
Generic filters
Exact matches only

Getting paid by newspapers

Homepage Forums General Photography Photography Business Getting paid by newspapers

• This topic is empty.

Getting paid by newspapers

• JustExposin
    Participant

I am an amateur fairly new to photography. There was a news worthy item near where I live and I shot some photos and sent some to a national paper on spec. One was used. However, I made no mention of payment. Am I entitled to payment? How do i go about it and how much do I bill them for.?

I want to be in a situation where i can send photos freelance on spec like this and be paid if they are used. Should I put a note in the email to the effect “may be used if payment made”* or should I make a watermark on the image to that effect. I mean very small where they can crop it off © copyright JustExposin’ license available or similar?

A writer is writing an article soon and asked me to shoot a picture for it. Thee are also other news worthy issues i will attend and shoot and submit. So i want to know how to submit my images in a way to ensure payment if used.

*Is there a recognized expression

paul
    Participant

Normally when I submit, either in the EXIF of the image, or else in the email (or both), I will state that “standard payment terms apply”.

No harm invoicing the paper. Give them a shout and ask for their payment rates. All papers have set rates of what they pay for photos. Once you know the amount, then simply invoice them. Depending on the paper, you can be paid anything up to 6 months after invoice, and may have to chase a bit for it too.

JustExposin
    Participant

Thanks. How do you add exif in photoshop? the only way i see is save for web. Is save as web good enough quality for a newspaper hard copy?

paul
    Participant