Exact matches only

Choosing my next lens

Homepage Forums Gear & Links Photography Equipment Lenses Choosing my next lens

• This topic is empty.

Choosing my next lens

• dzm
    Participant

Hey folks,

I’m new to photography and full of questions. Here’s one. I’ve a Canon 550D and the standard 18-55mm EF-S that came with the body. I bought a Canon 50mm f1.8 about a year ago and I love that for portraits.

I’m ready to buy my next lens but am really unsure what to get.

I figured I’d get a zoom. My Dad has the 75-300mm and it’s nice but a lot of people are recommending the 55-250mm. Now I’m wondering if I spent a bit more money and got a decent 18-200mm, or something of that nature, that it would replace my standard 18-55mm and suffice for most of my zoom requirements.

Opinions appreciated.

Cheers,

Dave

PaddyF
    Participant

I have a 500D with a 55-250 and 18-55. It is a pain walking round with the 55-250 as sometimes its too long for some shots and the 18-55 is too short for general use. I need at least the 250 length as I take alot of motorsport photographs. I plan to replace the 18-55 with something like an 18-200 when funds allow, that is what I would recommend you go with unless you have any particular reason for needing a longer lens.

slang61
    Participant

Dave.
    I use nikon cameras but when I got my first Dslr it came with an 18-55 kit kens. The next lens I bought was the 55-200. But very soon after that I bought the 18-200, as it was a pain having to have the two lenses. It is definitely worth while spending the extra few bob on the 18-200. I still use it as my main lens all the time (3 years later)
    Hope this helps.

STU.

Bricker
    Participant

The eternal question!

When you say you figured on a zoom, what is it that you are after? From what you have said, it seems its a bit of stretch.

My personal expierience is simllar to your situation, and my 2nd lens was a 70 – 300.